Neil Diamond: Rainbow CD Track Listing

A list by checkmate

Neil Diamond Rainbow (1973)
Originally Released 1973\nCD Edition Released January 28, 2003\n\nAMG EXPERT REVIEW: Rainbow is a compilation that relies solely on compositions by folk-rock singer/songwriters and modern-day pop craftsmen, which means that the record is more consistent than the average Neil Diamond album, even if it lacks the distinctive spark that one of his originals would have lent the album. Still, there are fine performances here, and Diamond does justice to "Everybody's Talkin'," "Both Sides Now," "Chelsea Morning," and "He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother." -- Stephen Thomas Erlewine \n \ Customer Review\nA Nice Collection Of Music From Other Diamond Albums, December 7, 2004\nReviewer: GregCnAZ "Greg" (Phoenix, AZ USA) \nAfter reading the other reviews for "Rainbow", I was a bit surprised that no one mentioned this is a collection of songs from 3 earlier Diamond albums: "Touching Me, Touching You", "Tap Root Manuscript", and "Stones". This is not really a greatest hits album since most of these songs were not released as singles. Just a nice collection of Neil Diamond covers that work quite well together. However, rather than just purchasing "Rainbow", don't miss out on the 3 original albums these songs are from. All three of them are classics and Diamond at his best. \n\ Customer Review\nIt 1970 it wasn't really very cool to like Neil Diamond but, July 11, 2000\nReviewer: Thomas Lapins (Orlando, Florida USA) \nI really liked alot of his music. "Sweet Caroline" and "Holly Holy" were great radio tunes. "I've Been This Way Before" and "Be" told me something about poetry. And the LP's "Tap Root Manuscript" and "Beautiful Noise" were two of my favorite long plays. "Rainbow" was a little different from his other albums, this LP went a little deeper in a more subtle and serious way. "Everybody's Talking," "Mr. Bojangles" and "He Ain't Heavy" were already hits. He recaptured these established hits in his own way. "Mr. Bojangles" tells me about a "me" who is growing older and dearly misses his furry compansion (it hurts to hear this one). "He Ain't Heavy" has all the brotherly magic of the original. Only with a little more pain and longing. "Suzanne" is the kind of song he was made to do. Full of the wonderment of one who dances to a different drummer. "Both Sides Now" belongs to another but...also, belongs here. "Until It's Time For You To Go," "The Last Thing On My Mind," "If You Go Away" and "I Think It's Gonna Rain Today" were all introduced to me on this LP. Lush lyrics time has helped me to truly appreciate. All of these songs were brilliantly arranged. Some very simple and lovely orchestrations. I saw him twice in concert. My mother and I had a rock n' roll singer that we both liked. Almost thirty years later I think that was really cool. At least a great memory because of some great music.\n\ Album Credits\nTom Catalano, Producer\n\nAlbum Notes\nPersonnel includes: Neil Diamond (vocals).Includes liner notes by Karen Shears.
This rock cd contains 11 tracks and runs 39min 46sec.
Freedb: 9e09500b
Buy: from


: Music



Music category icon, top 100 and cd listings
  1. Neil Diamond - Everybody's Talkin' (02:44)
  2. Neil Diamond - Both Sides Now (03:31)
  3. Neil Diamond - Husbands And Wives (03:44)
  4. Neil Diamond - Chelsea Morning (02:32)
  5. Neil Diamond - Until It's Time For You To Go (03:30)
  6. Neil Diamond - The Last Thing On My Mind (03:33)
  7. Neil Diamond - Suzanne (04:41)
  8. Neil Diamond - Mr. Bojangles (04:50)
  9. Neil Diamond - If You Go Away (03:47)
  10. Neil Diamond - I Think It's Going To Rain Today (02:35)
  11. Neil Diamond - He Ain't Heavy... He's My Brother (04:11)

listicles end ruler, top 40, top 100, top 5, top ten
Bookmark this list: Press CTRL + D or click the star icon.