Elvis Presley: Known Only To Him: Elvis Gospel 1957-1971 CD Track Listing

A list by checkmate

Elvis Presley Known Only To Him: Elvis Gospel 1957-1971 (1989)
Known Only To Him: Elvis Gospel 1957-1971\n\nOriginally Released May 2, 1989 \n\nAMG EXPERT REVIEW: The second of two albums assembled by the Country Music Foundation's Jay Orr (the other is Elvis in Nashville), Elvis Gospel 1957-1971: Known Only to Him was a 14-track compilation culled largely from Presley's inspirational records, the 1957 EP Peace in the Valley and the albums His Hand in Mine (1960), How Great Thou Art (1967), and He Touched Me (1972). The music is consistently effective, confirming Presley's affection for gospel. (This album was largely superseded by the two-disc 1994 compilation Amazing Grace, which contained most of its selections.) -- William Ruhlmann\n\nAMAZON.COM CUSTOMER REVIEW\nHere is Elvis Presley!, January 25, 2006\nReviewer: Johnny Heering "trivia buff" (Bethel, CT United States)\nThis is a fine collection of gospel songs by Elvis Presley. Just about any time Elvis song a gospel song, the results were great, so you know the music here is wonderful. But, there are other more complete collections of Elvis' gospel material available, which I would recommend over this one. Everything here is great, but it doesn't include some of his most popular gospel songs, like "Crying in the Chapel" and "How Great Thou Art". But it does include the version of "Peace in the Valley" from The Ed Sullivan Show, so that's something.\n\n\nHalf.com Album Notes\nPersonnel: Elvis Presley (vocals, guitar); Hank Garland, James Burton, Charlie Hodge, Scotty Moore, Chip Young, Reggie Young (guitar); Pete Drake (steel guitar); Brenton Banks, Lillian V. Hunt, Pierre J. Menard, Solie Fott, George Binkley, Akira Nagai (violin); Byron Bach, Sadao Harada (cello); Marvin Chantry, Gary Van Osdale (violas); Rufus Long, Boots Randolph (saxophone); David Briggs, Floyd Cramer, Bobby Wood (piano); Henry Slaughter (piano, organ); Bobby Emmons, Gordon Stoker (organ); Charlie McCoy (harmonica, organ); Norbert Putmam (bass); Bill Black, Bob Moore, Henry Strzelecki, Tommy Cogbill (bass); DJ Fontana, Gene Chrisman, Kenny Buttery (drums); Buddy Harman (drums, tympani); Jerry Carrigan (percussion); The Jordanaires, Millie Kirkham, The Imperials, June Page, Dolores Edgin, Sandy Posey, Sonja Montgomery, Joe Babcock, Hurshel Wiginton, Ginger Holladay, Temple Riser (background vocals).\nThe Jordanaires: Hoyt Hawkins, Hugh Jarrett, Neal Matthews, Gordon Stoker.\nThe Imperials: Jake Hess, Sherrill Nielsen, Gary McSpadden, Terry Blackwood, Greg Gordon, Joe Moscheo.\n\nProducers: Felton Jarvis, Chips Moman, Steve Sholes.\n\nCompiled by the prestigious Country Music Foundation, KNOWN ONLY TO HIM collects fourteen of Elvis Presley's best gospel tracks from throughout his career. The album kicks off with Presley and the Jordanaires' 1957 performance of "Peace In The Valley" on the Ed Sullivan Show. The performance caught viewers, both fans and detractors, by surprise: few expected that the national symbol of juvenile delinquency was also a devout and capable gospel singer. Presley's youthful exuberance and obvious passion for this music shines through on this and other tracks from his early years, among them five recordings from the 1960 album HIS HAND IN MINE and four from 1967's Grammy-winning HOW GREAT THOU ART.\n\nIt should come as no surprise that, with such a wealth of material to chose from, the Country Music Foundation has programmed a flawless collection of gospel music, one that demonstrates both Presley's prodigious talents and his equally prodigious debt to the black and white gospel-music traditions. Those interested in a more comprehensive collection of Presley's gospel recordings should consider the two-disc, 55-song AMAZING GRACE.
This misc cd contains 14 tracks and runs 36min 3sec.
Freedb: ab08710e
Buy: from Amazon.com


: Music



  1. Elvis Presley - Peace In The Valley (01:43)
  2. Elvis Presley - Take My Hand, Precious Lord (03:23)
  3. Elvis Presley - I'M Gonna Walk Dem Golden Stairs (01:54)
  4. Elvis Presley - I Believe In The Man In The Sky (02:14)
  5. Elvis Presley - Joshua Fit The Battle (02:42)
  6. Elvis Presley - Swing Down Sweet Chariot (02:36)
  7. Elvis Presley - Stand By Me (02:31)
  8. Elvis Presley - Run On (02:24)
  9. Elvis Presley - Where Could I Go But To The Lord (03:40)
  10. Elvis Presley - So High (01:59)
  11. Elvis Presley - We Call On Him (02:34)
  12. Elvis Presley - Who Am I (03:22)
  13. Elvis Presley - Lead Me, Guide Me (02:43)
  14. Elvis Presley - Known Only To Him (02:10)

Bookmark this list