Jackie Gleason: Jackie Gleason Presents Velvet Brass CD Track Listing

A list by checkmate

Jackie Gleason Jackie Gleason Presents Velvet Brass (1957)
Jackie Gleason Presents Velvet Brass\n\nOriginally Released September 1957\nCD Edition Released 1987\nRazor & Tie Expanded Edition Released June 18, 1996 \n\nAMG EXPERT REVIEW: (Razor & Tie Expanded Edition) How Sweet It Is! The Jackie Gleason Velvet Brass Collection is a nice 20-track compilation of Gleason's easy-listening brass records, containing lush, appealing versions of such standards as "You're Driving Me Crazy," "But Not for Me," "The Man I Love," "Me and My Shadow," "Take the 'A' Train," "Am I Blue," "What's New?," "Girl of My Dreams," "September Song" and "My Buddy." There's also a handful of fine original compositions, such as "Melancholy Serenade" and "To a Sleeping Beauty," that may not be as strong as the standards, but they're lovely songs nonetheless, and they add value to what already is the strongest compilation of Gleason's lush brass recordings yet assembled. -- Stephen Thomas Erlewine\n\nAMAZON.COM CUSTOMER REVIEW (Razor & Tie Expanded Edition)\nOne of Gleason's BEST Albums!, July 1, 2000\nReviewer: F. Barton "Forrest W. Barton" (Newport, WA USA)\nThis album holds ALL of Gleason's trademarks: unusual arrangements that leave you spellbound, incredible musicians, and wonderful selections. The brass floats along, and the ENTIRE album is at long last released.This was only the THIRD album recorded in STEREO by Capitol. It was put out in a modified form in mono for it's first general release. For the FIRST time, we have ALL the stereo tracks that were recorded -- SEVENTEEN!The remastering is tops, giving us a peek into that vacuum tube era of '50s recording that many of us love. Unfortunately with modern remastering that quality is lost on most transfers, but not this one. You can hear the album as it was meant to be heard. Truly fantastic! YES, the CD does come with five BONUS tracks, like "Meloncoly Seranade" which was the theme for the HONEYMOONERS, and a few comic tracks by Gleason. That fact is great, and does NOT deter from the fact that the entire stereo album, with great remastering is here for us all to enjoy! GRAB THIS!\n\nAMAZON.COM CUSTOMER REVIEW (Razor & Tie Expanded Edition)\nSoft, or loud, its the greatest!, March 10, 1999\nReviewer: A music fan\nIf you thought "romantic" and "brass" did not belong in the same sentence, you need to listen to this album. I have two copies on vinyl, and finally, one on CD. "Skyliner" and "But Not for Me" will give you chills.\n\nAMAZON.COM CUSTOMER REVIEW (Razor & Tie Expanded Edition)\nThe best album Gleason ever made!, October 30, 1998\nReviewer: A music fan\nThis is one of the best big band albums of the 1950's/1960's. Very warm brass sound with excellant use of all instruments. After listening to all of the Gleason albums, this stands out as his best. If your going to have a cocktail party, this is a must.
This misc cd contains 16 tracks and runs 37min 27sec.
Freedb: d908c510
Buy: from Amazon.com


: Music



  1. Jackie Gleason - You're Driving Me Crazy (02:45)
  2. Jackie Gleason - Skyliner (02:50)
  3. Jackie Gleason - But Not For Me (02:06)
  4. Jackie Gleason - The Man I Love (02:13)
  5. Jackie Gleason - Cherokee (03:01)
  6. Jackie Gleason - Me And My Shadow (02:48)
  7. Jackie Gleason - Take The ''A'' Train\\ (01:56)
  8. Jackie Gleason - By The Beautiful Sea (02:28)
  9. Jackie Gleason - Am I Blue? (02:15)
  10. Jackie Gleason - What's New? (02:08)
  11. Jackie Gleason - Girl Of My Dreams (02:09)
  12. Jackie Gleason - My Buddy (01:55)
  13. Jackie Gleason - I Can't Believe That You're In Love With Me (01:53)
  14. Jackie Gleason - September Song (02:33)
  15. Jackie Gleason - Out Of Nowhere (02:33)
  16. Jackie Gleason - Chinatown, My Chinatown (01:46)

Bookmark this list