Nat King Cole: The Nat King Cole Story - Disc 1 of 2 CD Track Listing

A list by checkmate

Nat King Cole The Nat King Cole Story - Disc 1 of 2 (1961)
Nat King Cole\nThe Nat King Cole Story - Disc 1 of 2\n1991 Capitol Records, Inc.\n\nOriginally Released 1961\nCD Edition Released June 4, 1991\n\nAMG EXPERT REVIEW: This double CD finds Cole revisiting his earlier hits with new versions. The 36 selections mostly focus on his pop successes of the 1950s, although there are a few wistful looks back at his trio days. Not as essential as the original renditions of these popular recordings, the remakes nevertheless find Cole in peak form and comprise a highly enjoyable retrospective of his vocal career. -- Scott Yanow\n\nAMAZON.COM CUSTOMER REVIEW\nA great review of Nat's musical career, June 23, 2001\nReviewer: The Fancy One "blackprincess" (New York, NY)\nTHE NAT KING COLE STORY, originally a 3-album set released in 1961, consists of stereo remakes of Nat's most popular tunes from 1944 ("Straighten Up And Fly Right") up until 1960 ("Wild Is Love"). It includes his hits with his Trio, and his solo works. Cole was known for doing remakes of songs he particularly enjoyed, but because of the times, were only recorded in mono. As stereo became more and more in vogue in the late 1950s and early '60s, Nat decided that a lot of his material would be done true justice to if they were re-recorded in stereo...and here we have THE NAT KING COLE STORY.\n\nThis CD set also includes the best renditions of "Nature Boy", "Darling, Je Vous Aime Beaucoup", "Mona Lisa", "Smile", "The Christmas Song", "Unforgettable" and "Orange Colored Sky" (although personally I liked some of the original recordings of certain songs more, such as "Sweet Lorraine", "Somewhere Along The Way", "A Blossom Fell" and "Walkin' My Baby Back Home"). Also included are comments from Leonard Feather, esteemed jazz writer and reviewer, about each song, and reflections upon Nat's important contribution to the jazz genre by noted reviewers Ralph J. Gleason and George T. Simon. There are even some wonderful pics of Nat with his family, his friends and his Trio. A wonderful tribute to a TRULY unforgettable musical icon and artist. THE NAT KING COLE STORY is a story worth knowing (and owning)! BUY!\n\nAMAZON.COM CUSTOMER REVIEW\nExcellent and faithful rerecordings, December 17, 2000\nReviewer: R. Riis "rriis" (NY)\nAlthough these are not the original hit recordings, these excellent and faithful rerecordings from circa 1960 provide an overview of the career (to that point) of a great song stylist. Nominated for a Grammy for best LP in 1961 and still fine today. Recommended.\n\n
This jazz cd contains 18 tracks and runs 55min 15sec.
Freedb: 0e0cf112


: Music



  1. Nat King Cole - Straighten Up And Fly Right (02:36)
  2. Nat King Cole - Sweet Lorraine (03:22)
  3. Nat King Cole - It's Only A Paper Moon (02:57)
  4. Nat King Cole - (Get Your Kicks On) Route 66 (02:56)
  5. Nat King Cole - (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons (03:04)
  6. Nat King Cole - The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas To You) (03:10)
  7. Nat King Cole - Nature Boy (02:53)
  8. Nat King Cole - Lush Life (03:46)
  9. Nat King Cole - Calypso Blues (03:25)
  10. Nat King Cole - Mona Lisa (03:27)
  11. Nat King Cole - Orange Colored Sky (02:33)
  12. Nat King Cole - Too Young (03:24)
  13. Nat King Cole - Unforgettable (03:27)
  14. Nat King Cole - Somewhere Along The Way (03:00)
  15. Nat King Cole - Walkin' My Baby Back Home (02:42)
  16. Nat King Cole - Pretend (02:45)
  17. Nat King Cole - Blue Gardenia (03:04)
  18. Nat King Cole - I Am In Love (02:33)

Bookmark this list