Miles Davis: Collectors' Items CD Track Listing

A list by checkmate

Miles Davis Collectors' Items (1956)
Originally Released 1956\nCD Edition Released September 2004\n\nAMG EXPERT REVIEW: This set lives up to its title by including such interesting sessions as the 1953 date on which Miles Davis welcomed the two tenors of Sonny Rollins and Charlie Parker other meetings with Rollins in 1951 and 1956 and a moody 1955 date with bassist Charles Mingus, trombone, vibes and drums (a young Elvin Jones). Highlights include "No Line," "Vierd Blues," "In Your Own Sweet Way," "Nature Boy" and "There's No You." It's classic if often overlooked music from a variety of immortal jazzmen. -- Scott Yanow\n\nAMAZON.COM CUSTOMER REVIEW\nWonderful Music By Several Jazz Greats, July 16, 2006\nReviewer: Jazzman (Chicago, IL)\nThis is a very nice collection of some little known studio material from the mid-50s. The first four tracks feature Miles with Sonny Rollins and Charlie Parker (who is listed here under his fake name Charlie Chan for this recording-this was due to the fact that Bird was signed to record for Verve Records exclusively and therefore had to use a fake name). They are all great tracks, and very interesting for we find Bird playing tenor on this one, something which he hadn't been recorded doing since his days with Jay McShann. There are two takes of "The Serpent's Tooth" along with "Compulsion" and Monk's most well-known tune "'Round Midnight". Bird is not in top form here as far as his technique, but his playing (especially on "'Round Midnight") is very soulful. Miles and Sonny play excellent as always. The other three cuts here feature the same lineup minus Parker and are also very well done. This album really deserves to be one of Miles' better known albums, but for some reason it is not.\n\nHalf.com Details \nContributing artists: Charlie Parker, Sonny Rollins, Tommy Flanagan \nProducer: Bob Weinstock, Ira Gitler \n\nAlbum Notes\nRecorded in New York on January 30, 1953 and March 16, 1956. \nOriginally released on Prestige (7044). \n\nIncludes the original liner notes written by Ira Gitler.\nDigitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (Fantasy Studios, Berkeley).\n\nPersonnel: Miles Davis (trumpet); Sonny Rollins, Charlie Parker (tenor saxophone); Tommy Flanagan, Walter Bishop Jr. (piano); Paul Chambers, Percy Heath (double bass); Philly Joe Jones, Art Taylor (drums).\n\nAll tracks have been digitally mastered using XRCD technology.\n\nOne of Miles Davis' most sympathetic collaborators was tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins, who shared his love for space, and his genius for melodic architecture. Rollins was only a few years Davis' junior when they first met, but Miles, by virtue of his extended stint with the Charlie Parker Quintet, was already viewed as an established stylist and leader.\nThis January 30, 1953 recording date introduces the fiery drummer Philly Joe Jones and teams Rollins with his idol Charlie Parker, who in a few choruses seems to presage the entire history of Sonny Rollins. Davis' "Compulsion" is a shifting, restless line, and after a leaping Davis solo, Parker charges in with a thick-toned line followed by a robust Rollins. Bird and Rollins double the melodic line on two takes of "The Serpent's Tooth," the brisker second take being the more polished. Miles begins somewhat hesitantly on "Round Midnight," but his classic core arrangement (with Dizzy's famous ending) is already in place, as Bird plays his best solo of the session.\nCOLLECTORS' ITEMS concludes with Miles and Sonny's final studio session together. Pianist Tommy Flanagan adds his special brand of harmonic intuition and swing, while Paul Chambers and Art Taylor round out a tightly coiled, elegant rhythm section. A muted Davis seems particularly inspired by the melody to Dave Brubeck's ballad "In Your Own Sweet Way," and Rollins doubles up with masterful restraint. "No Line" is an equestrian event--light, fast, and swinging--while the slow riff tune "Vierd Blues" features a particularly soulful Davis on open horn, egged on by Chambers' subtle counterpoint; Rollins lays way back behind the beat, with lazy, billowing melodic fragments, only to swoop back through with bold harmonic flourishes.\n\nIndustry Reviews\n4.5 Stars - Excellent Plus - ...an important record...
This jazz cd contains 7 tracks and runs 43min 33sec.
Freedb: 550a3307


: Music



  1. Miles Davis - The Serpent's Tooth (Take 1) (07:03)
  2. Miles Davis - The Serpent's Tooth (Take 2) (06:19)
  3. Miles Davis - 'Round Midnight (07:07)
  4. Miles Davis - Compulsion (05:46)
  5. Miles Davis - No Line (05:42)
  6. Miles Davis - Vierd Blues (06:55)
  7. Miles Davis - In Your Own Sweet Way (04:35)

Bookmark this list