Betty Carter: 'Round Midnight CD Track Listing

A list by checkmate

Betty Carter 'Round Midnight (1963)
1992 Atco Records - Atlantic & Atco Remasters Series\nOriginally Released February 1963\nRemastered Edition Released February 25, 1992\n\nAMG EXPERT REVIEW: period. Her chancetaking style and unusual voice were mostly ignored and it would not be until the late '70s that she was finally "discovered." This Atlantic CD finds Carter backed by orchestras arranged by Claus Ogerman and Oliver Nelson. Her style was a lot freer than it had been in her earlier records but was still more accessible than it would be. Her repertoire, which includes the title cut, "Theme from Dr. Kildare," "Two Cigarettes in the Dark" and her own "Who What Why Where When" was already becoming ecletic. This is an interesting historic release. -- Scott Yanow\n\nAmazon.com Editorial Review\nBetty Carter was once praised in verse by hip-hop's Gang Starr for "taking her time making the nuances rhyme." Nuance is nothing short of ever present on this breakthrough album from 1963, demonstrating the singer's unique phrasing on such standards as "Heart and Soul" and "One Note Samba," along with her own "Who What Why Where When," epitomizing much of the moody, yearning content of the record. These songs and their stories of coy first encounters and lonely meditation are further shaped by Carter's incomparable enunciation, which is allowed to cradle the lyrics to the point of vowel stretching, thanks to the arrangements of Oliver Nelson and Claus Ogerman. From the ironic sigh of "The Good Life" to a mischievous rendering of "Two Cigarettes in the Dark," their sound punctuates rather than drowns like so many jazz accompaniments of this period. --M. Eugene Lemcio \n\nAmazon.com Customer Review\nvocal x10, September 16, 2000 \nReviewer: A music fan from montpelier, vt \nbetty carter--a true innovator for vocal music. the whole album is wonderful, but her version of 'round midnight is absolutely breathtaking. carter takes this beautiful standard and melds it to something of her own--with new lyrics, time signature and a crazy melodic line. must have for that tune alone! \n\n
This jazz cd contains 13 tracks and runs 37min 3sec.
Freedb: bd08ad0d


: Music



  1. Betty Carter - Nothing More To Look Forward To (02:40)
  2. Betty Carter - Who What Why Where When (03:13)
  3. Betty Carter - Heart And Soul (03:21)
  4. Betty Carter - Call Me Darling (03:55)
  5. Betty Carter - When I Fall In Love (03:03)
  6. Betty Carter - 'Round Midnight (03:20)
  7. Betty Carter - I Wonder (02:34)
  8. Betty Carter - Theme From Dr. Kildare (Three Stars Will Shine Tonight) (02:45)
  9. Betty Carter - The Good Life (02:37)
  10. Betty Carter - Everybody's Somebody's Fool (02:46)
  11. Betty Carter - Two Cigarettes In The Dark (02:09)
  12. Betty Carter - Shine On Harvest Moon (Bonus Track) (02:10)
  13. Betty Carter - One Note Samba (Bonus Track) (02:20)

Bookmark this list