Barbra Streisand: Higher Ground CD Track Listing

A list by checkmate

Barbra Streisand Higher Ground (1997)
Personnel includes: Barbra Streisand, Celine Dion (vocals); Dean Parks (acoustic guitar); Dann Huff (guitar); Eric Rigler (Uileann pipes); Greg Phillinganes (piano, keyboards); Mervyn Warren (piano); Scott Frankfurt (keyboards, synthesizer, bass, programming, drum programming); Walter Afanasieff (keyboards, synthesizer, bass, drum programming); Dan Shea (keyboards, drum & computer programming); David Foster (keyboards, synthesizer); Byron Smith (Hammond B-3 organ); Neil Stubenhaus, Reggie Hamilton (bass); J.R. Robinson (drums); Bob Zimmetti, Peter Michael Escovedo III (percussion); Simon Franglen (drum programming); Phillip Ingram, Alex Brown, Lynn Davis, Jim Gilstrap, The Carol Lombard Children's Choir (background vocals).Producers: Barbara Streisand, Arif Mardin, Walter Afanasieff, David Foster, Mervyn Warren, Jeremy Lubbock.Engineers include: David Reitzas, David Gleeson, Jeff Balding, Humberto Gatica, Frank Wolf.Includes liner notes by Barbra Streisand and Jay Landers.This album, which is dedicated to the memory of Virginia Kelley, President Clinton's mother, opens with a sense of quiet sincerity in Barbra Streisand's restrained take on Rodgers and Hammerstein's "You'll Never Walk Alone," paired with an equally non-traditional version of the Frankie Laine hit, "I Believe," both of which set the tone for the remainder of HIGHER GROUND. Offerings range from show tunes and popular songs to traditional pieces like "The Water is Wide" and "Avinu Malkeinu," which is traditionally sung during Rosh Hashanah, and whose lyrics translate as "Cause all hate and oppression to vanish from the earth/Inscribe us for blessing in the Book of Life." HIGHER GROUND carries this sense of spirituality to a variety of levels, resulting in a very accessible and timeless collection of songs sung by one of the world's most popular divas, who is at her most powerful and passionate, her rich and expressive voice backed by a lush 70-piece orchestra.
This data cd contains 12 tracks and runs 56min 44sec.
Freedb: b20d4a0c


: Music



Music category icon, top 100 and cd listings
  1. Barbra Streisand - I Believe / You'll Never Walk Alone (06:12)
  2. Barbra Streisand - Higher Ground (04:23)
  3. Barbra Streisand - At the Same Time (04:18)
  4. Barbra Streisand - Tell Him (04:53)
  5. Barbra Streisand - On Holy Ground (06:14)
  6. Barbra Streisand - If I Could (04:25)
  7. Barbra Streisand - Circle (04:15)
  8. Barbra Streisand - The Water Is Wide / Deep River (05:32)
  9. Barbra Streisand - Leading With Your Heart (03:32)
  10. Barbra Streisand - Lessons to Be Learned (04:43)
  11. Barbra Streisand - Everything Must Change (04:04)
  12. Barbra Streisand - Avinu Malkeinu (04:07)

listicles end ruler, top 40, top 100, top 5, top ten
Bookmark this list: Press CTRL + D or click the star icon.