Merle Haggard: Hag + Someday We'll Look Back CD Track Listing

A list by checkmate

Merle Haggard Hag + Someday We'll Look Back (1971)
Hag + Someday We'll Look Back\n2006 Capitol Records, Inc.\n\nThis compilation released February 21, 2006\n'Hag'' Originally Released 1971\n''Someday We'll Look Back'' Originally Released 1971\n\nAMG EXPERT REVIEW: (This Compilation) In early 2006, roughly in time for the 40th anniversary of Merle Haggard's debut album, Capitol Nashville launched an ambitious Haggard catalog project, reissuing ten albums as a series of five two-fers, each adorned with bonus tracks. All these albums had been reissued before, either stateside by Capitol or Koch or in the U.K. by EMI or BGO, but they've never have been given such an excellent treatment as they are here. The albums are paired together in logical, chronological order, the 24-bit digital remastering gives these recordings the best sound they've ever had, the front cover artwork is reproduced for each album on a two-fer, and the liner notes are candid and detailed. Dedicated Hag fans certainly have nearly all this material in their collection -- not only have the albums been on CD, but the bonus tracks have by and large appeared on Bear Family's box Untamed Hawk, which chronicled his early work for Capitol, or showed up on Capitol's own box, Down Every Road -- but they still may be tempted by this series, since these discs not only sound and look terrific, but they're also more listenable than any previous CD incarnation of these classic albums.\n\nAnd make no mistake, all ten albums featured in Capitol Nashville's first wave of Haggard reissues in February 2006 are classic albums; some may be a little stronger than others, but there's not a weak one in the bunch, and they all stand as some of the finest music of their time. The fifth two-fer of the initial wave paired Merle's two 1971 albums, Hag and Someday We'll Look Back, two terrific, reflective records. Arriving after the superb Bob Wills salute Tribute to the Best Damn Fiddle Player in the World, Hag was Haggard's first collection of largely original songs in two years, since 1969's Portrait. Since that album, Haggard experienced great success with "Okie from Muskogee," which launched two quick live albums (one bearing the name of the song, the other being The Fightin' Side of Me), plus an instrumental album by the Strangers, before the labor of love of the Wills album. Perhaps Haggard had a great stock of songs saved up during those two years, because Hag is one of his absolute best albums -- which means a lot, because he recorded no shortage of great records. In contrast to the rowdy live albums and the raucous Western swing that preceded it, Hag is quite quiet and reflective, sometimes referencing the turmoil within America at the end of the '60s, but more often finding Haggard turning inward. This album turned out no less than four hits, with three of them addressing larger issues: the revival of Ernest Tubb's WWII hit "Soldier's Last Letter" is now cast in the shadow of Vietnam, Haggard's original "Jesus, Take a Hold" ponders the state of the world, while Dave Kirby's "Sidewalks of Chicago" is about homelessness. The other hit was "I Can't Be Myself," a haunting admission that the singer "can't be myself when I'm with you," and it's only one of many great originals on Hag. The tempo picks up twice, each time at the end of the side, when he kicks out the self-deprecating "I'm a Good Loser" and the nostalgic rave-up "I've Done It All," but the heart of this is in the gentler material, such as the melancholic elegy of "Shelly's Winter Love," the sighing heartbreak ballad "If You've Got Time," and "The Farmer's Daughter," an affecting tale of a father giving away his daughter in marriage. Each is an expertly observed, richly textured gem, and taken together they add up to one of Haggard's best albums, and one of his most moving. \n\nSomeday We'll Look Back follows through on the spirit of Hag. Like that record, much of Someday We'll Look Back is devoted to ballads, including both lush, string-laden country-pop crossovers and simple, folky tunes, but there are also hints of twangy Bakersfield honky tonk and blues, as well as Western swing. But what really makes the record so distinctive is the quality of the material. Haggard's original songs -- including "Someday We'll Look Back," the richly evocative "Tulare Dust," "I'd Rather Be Gone," "One Sweet Hello" -- are uniformly excellent, while he invests considerable emotion into covers of Tommy Collins' "Carolyn," Dallas Frazier and Elizabeth Montgomery's "California Cottonfields," and Roger Miller's "Train of Life." The result is one of the finest albums he ever recorded, and when it's paired with Hag on this two-fer, it makes for absolutely essential listening. -- Stephen Thomas Erlewine\n
This country cd contains 26 tracks and runs 69min 49sec.
Freedb: 7b105b1a


: Music



  1. Merle Haggard - Soldier's Last Letter (02:12)
  2. Merle Haggard - Shelly's Winter Love (03:23)
  3. Merle Haggard - Jesus, Take A Hold (02:17)
  4. Merle Haggard - I Can't Be Myself (02:51)
  5. Merle Haggard - I'm A Good Loser (02:41)
  6. Merle Haggard - The Sidewalks Of Chicago (02:30)
  7. Merle Haggard - No Reason To Quit (02:36)
  8. Merle Haggard - If You've Got Time (To Say Goodbye) (02:54)
  9. Merle Haggard - The Farmer's Daughter (02:56)
  10. Merle Haggard - I've Done It All (02:15)
  11. Merle Haggard - I Ain't Got Nobody (Previously Unissued) (02:10)
  12. Merle Haggard - I'll Be A Hero (When I Strike) - (Bonus Track) (02:02)
  13. Merle Haggard - Trouble In Mind (Bonus Track) (03:15)
  14. Merle Haggard - Someday We'll Look Back (02:32)
  15. Merle Haggard - Train Of Life (02:44)
  16. Merle Haggard - One Sweet Hello (02:48)
  17. Merle Haggard - One Row At A Time (03:07)
  18. Merle Haggard - Big Time Annie's Square (02:35)
  19. Merle Haggard - I'd Rather Be Gone (02:36)
  20. Merle Haggard - California Cottonfields (02:47)
  21. Merle Haggard - Carolyn (02:35)
  22. Merle Haggard - Tulare Dust (01:49)
  23. Merle Haggard - Huntsville (03:08)
  24. Merle Haggard - The Only Trouble With Me (03:11)
  25. Merle Haggard - Spanish Two Step (Bonus Track) (02:55)
  26. Merle Haggard - Worried, Unhappy, Lonesome And Sorry (Bonus Track) (02:45)

Bookmark this list