Dolly Parton: Jolene (Remastered + Expanded) CD Track Listing

A list by checkmate

Dolly Parton Jolene (Remastered + Expanded) (1974)
Jolene (Remastered + Expanded)\n2007 RCA Nashville/Legacy\n\nOriginally Released March 9, 1974\nCD Edition Released July 26, 1994\nBuddah CD Edition Released November 9, 1999\nRemastered + Expanded CD Edition Released April 3, 2007\n\nAMG EXPERT REVIEW: Of the three 2007 Dolly Parton reissues from Sony, Jolene is the most absorbing musically and the most problematic lyrically. A sparkling production creates a rich backdrop for both "Jolene" and "When Someone Wants to Leave" (both Parton originals), mixing acoustic guitar, country instruments (steel guitar, dobro), and light percussion. This tasteful mix, nicely spread across the stereo spectrum with Parton front and center, is a joy to listen to. Lyrically, however, these songs are a long way from Loretta Lynn's "You Ain't Woman Enough to Take My Man." Parton's female protagonists are downright pitiful, adrift in a world where a more attractive woman might take their man, where a woman cannot let go of a man who no longer loves her, and where a man is the "highlight" of her life ("Highlight of My Life.") Jolene, originally released in 1974, feels like a shot across the bow of the feminist movement, a reaffirmation that many women still liked the men to wear the pants (women, presumably, who listened to old-fashioned country music). This seems somewhat peculiar now, in that no one -- looking at her long, distinguished career and commanding stage presence -- would accuse Parton of being a weak-kneed songbird. Still, the music and Parton's vocal prowess are in top form on Jolene, and "I Will Always Love You" is one of her best performances (which is saying a lot). Like it or loath it, Jolene offers a fascinating snapshot of an era in transition, and captures Parton at the top of her game. \n\n[The 2007 reissue of the album adds four previously unreleased bonus tracks.] -- Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.\n\nAmazon.com Editorial Review\nWhen 28-year-old Dolly Parton summoned the courage to leave The Porter Wagoner Show in 1974, she knew she needed a dynamic solo album to pave the way. The No. 1 single "Jolene" was a fine place to start, with its instantly recognized guitar intro and its minor-key structure that suggested the murder ballads and wronged-woman folk songs of Parton's mountain heritage. But Dolly had bigger, mainstream success in mind, and used her difficult and prolonged parting with Wagoner as inspiration for "I Will Always Love You," a goose-bumpy consolation prize that must have broken Porter's old heart in two. While Parton would have other fine country moments before surrendering to the glitz and glamour of pop pursuit three years later, never again would her gossamer soprano sound as eerily timeless or innocent as it does on the bulk of these tracks. And although "I Will Always Love You" would become a blue-chip stock, with several other incarnations, including a caterwauled hit for Whitney Houston in 1992, Parton's version here--vulnerable yet resolute, and understated compared to future efforts--would represent her at her best, confessing to the tempo of tears. --Alanna Nash \n\n\nAMAZON.COM CUSTOMER REVIEW\nHer Roots, March 25, 2001 \nBy "gemini_j" (Canada)\nJolene is where Dolly's roots are, it was that era where some of her most memorable music came from, this cd being no exception whatsoever. This is pure gold. There are classics on this cd such as Jolene, the original version of I Will ALways Love You, Lonely Comin Down, and other memorable songs lik River of Happiness, Early Morning Breeze, and It Must Be You. All the songs are winners. This is a must have, and a great place for new fans of Dolly to start their collection. Go out and get it if you already havent! \n\n\nAMAZON.COM CUSTOMER REVIEW\nOne of her best, August 22, 2005 \nBy Jake Z "holden84" (Canada)\nDolly Parton released this album in 1974 and it was her first album after she left Porter Wagoner. She pays ode to him on the bittersweet classic ballad "I Will Always Love You" which stands as one of her finest. Much better than the overdramatic Whitney Houston version from 1992. The title track was also a hit, and another Dolly classic. This album was commercially successful, and perhaps the only time in her career she mixed commercial success with artistic integrity. Other highlights include "Lonely Comin Down", "It Must Be You" and "Highlight of my Life". A must have! \n\n\nAMAZON.COM CUSTOMER REVIEW\nMid-70s Parton hitting her country commercial peak, April 4, 2007 \nBy redtunictroll (Earth, USA)\nBy the mid-70s, Parton had emerged from Porter Wagoner's shadow to redefine herself as a powerhouse solo artist. This 1974 release, her first solo LP to crack the top-10, includes the chart-topping title track, as well as the original version of Parton's farewell to Porter Wagoner, "I Will Always Love You." The title track, covered by others (including a superb bluegrass version by Rhonda Vincent), is best heard in this original form. \n\n"I Will Always Love You" is closely associated among film viewers and MTV watchers with Whitney Houston, but Parton's original, aching with conflicting strength, vulnerability, fragility and resolution outstrips both Houston's remake, and Parton's own reworking for the film "The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas." The song was so strong that all three versions - Houston's and two from Parton - topped the charts! \n\nThe album's eight additional tunes, six from Parton, one from Wagoner, and one from Blaise Tosti ("It Must Be You") have tamer themes that those explored on earlier Parton LP's like "Coat of Many Colors," but no less heartfelt. Parton's emancipation from Wagoner would lead her to industry honors (including CMA Female Vocalist of the Year in '75 and '76), Hollywood and crossover success, but the mid-70s found her in full flower of solo aristry as a country singer-songwriter. \n\nBuddha's 1999 reissue of this title was a straight-up 10 track, 25-minute disc. RCA/Legacy expands on the original with a quartet of bonus tracks from the 1974 sessions, bringing the playing time to 37 minutes. It's surprising that a track like "Cracker Jack," a loving song of a childhood pet, was lost in Parton's catalog. Though she "Another Woman's Man" (a reflection of "Jolene") and the tangy day-dreaming "Last Night's Lovin'" remained unreleased, and "Barbara on Your Mind" was reworked on Parton's 1982's "Heartbreak Express" LP. All four are worthwhile additions. \n\nLegacy's new reissue (along with accompanying versions of "My Tennessee Mountain Home" and "Coat of Many Colors") fills out the packaging with newly struck liner notes by Chet Flippo and chart and session information missing from the earlier Buddha version. This is an essential entry in Parton's catalog, and even those who own the earlier CD reissue should consider upgrading for the bonus tracks and new booklet. [


: Music



  1. Dolly Parton - Jolene (02:42)
  2. Dolly Parton - When Someone Wants To Leave (02:08)
  3. Dolly Parton - River Of Happiness (02:21)
  4. Dolly Parton - Early Morning Breeze (02:47)
  5. Dolly Parton - Highlight Of My Life (02:18)
  6. Dolly Parton - I Will Always Love You (02:57)
  7. Dolly Parton - Randy (01:53)
  8. Dolly Parton - Living On Memories Of You (02:47)
  9. Dolly Parton - Lonely Comin' Down (03:16)
  10. Dolly Parton - It Must Be You (01:55)
  11. Dolly Parton - Cracker Jack (Previously Unissued) (03:13)
  12. Dolly Parton - Another Woman's Man (Previously Unissued) (03:00)
  13. Dolly Parton - Barbara On Your Mind (Previously Unissued) (03:14)
  14. Dolly Parton - Last Night's Lovin' (Previously Unissued) (02:26)

Bookmark this list