Merle Haggard: Live From Austin, Texas: Merle Haggard CD Track Listing

A list by checkmate

Merle Haggard Live From Austin, Texas: Merle Haggard (1985)
Live From Austin, Texas: Merle Haggard\n2006 New West Records, LLC\n\nOriginally Released February 21, 2006\n\nAMG EXPERT REVIEW: This 1985 performance of Merle Haggard and his swinging Strangers -- with a two-piece horn section that sounds like five -- were in fine form at Austin City Limits. There are 15 tunes on Live from Austin, TX many of them barn burners. It opens with "The Okie from Muskogee's Comin' Home," a fine choice since it's not a novelty song. Haggard sticks to his own material most of the time, and he rambles over it, pulling from classics like "Mama Tried" and "Silver Wings," to newer material from the MCA and Epic periods -- which were creatively fertile times for him. An example is in the lovely "What Am I Gonna Do (With the Rest of My Life)," the fourth tune in the set. But there are more, too, in "Place to Fall Apart" and "I Wish Things Were Simple Again." There are two Tommy Duncan tunes here, where Haggard pays homage to his first real influence, Bob Wills -- "Misery," "Take Me Back to Tulsa," and one by Wills, as well as "Ida Red." Thankfully, a great version of Johnny Durrill's "Misery and Gin" is here from Back to the Barrooms, as is the wonderful closer, Haggard's own "I Think I'll Just Stay Here and Drink," to take the thing out on the right note. It's true most could have lived without his pseudo-orchestral paean to xenophobic political values, "Amber Waves of Grain," but it wouldn't be a complete show without an accurate portrayal of the songwriter and the man. Haggard fans will dig this one just fine. -- Thom Jurek\n\nAmazon.com Editorial Review\nThough the perpetually touring Haggard has been known to deliver some perfunctory performances, this 1985 Austin City Limits taping was plainly a delight for artist and audience alike. The recording (also available on DVD) presents Haggard not as a living legend, delivering rote renditions of all the hits that have made him one, but as a vital, creative artist keeping it fresh for himself as well as the faithful. Sure, there are signature hits here, including the early "Mama Tried" (introduced with a lovely verse from "Tulare Dust") and the shimmering "Silver Wings." But performances such as the tender vocal on "Thank You for Keeping My House" and the bittersweet sophistication of "What Am I Gonna Do (With the Rest of My Life)" give even better indication of his expressive depth and subtle mastery. George Jones may be the most emotive country singer alive, but Merle Haggard could well be the most influential, with the conversational phrasing and plainspoken conviction that have made him the gold standard for younger generations of artists. He pays ample tribute to Bob Wills with four selections from the Texas Playboys' songbook, while additionally showcasing his jazzier side with the Dixieland brass that punctuates the opening "Okie from Muskogee's Comin' Home." From the boozy ruminations of "Misery and Gin" through the romantic regret of "Place to Fall Apart," few singers can make feeling bad sound as good as Haggard. Yet the raucous closer of "I Think I'll Just Sit Here and Drink" finds his honky-tonk as raucous as ever. --Don McLeese \n\nAmazon.com Product Description\nThe Live From Austin, Texas series takes the classic performances from the award winning Austin City Limits TV show and makes them available to consumers with improved audio quality and bonus songs that were cut from the original broadcast. This latest set includes performances from some of country music's Outlaws including Merle Haggard, trailblazers who didn't follow the trends and refused to play by the rules set by Music Row. Merle is in fine form here in his October 1985 performance from Austin City Limits studios. Also available on DVD.\n\nHalf.com Album Notes\nRecording information: 10/30/1985.\nThough recorded in 1985, this performance by Merle Haggard and the Strangers for the legendary PBS series Austin City Limits wasn't released until 2006 (as part of the Live From Austin, TX, series). No matter, though, since Haggard's music has proved timeless--LIVE might have been recorded in the mid 1960s or yesterday and it would still have that classic sing-me-back-home Bakersfield sound.\nHaggard does his fans a good turn by serving up favorites ("Mama Tried"), lesser-known gems ("Misery and Gin"), and genre standards (Bob Wills's "Take Me Back to Tulsa"). The Strangers offer smooth, flawless support behind Haggard's lovely singing, and prove that even 20 years into the game they can still kick it up a notch when necessary ("Ida Red"). This is yet another fine addition to a Hag catalogue already filled with fine music.
This country cd contains 15 tracks and runs 45min 59sec.
Freedb: d70ac50f


: Music



  1. Merle Haggard - Okie From Muskogee's Comin' Home (02:49)
  2. Merle Haggard - Texas (01:54)
  3. Merle Haggard - Thank You For Keeping My House (03:14)
  4. Merle Haggard - What Am I Gonna Do (With The Rest Of My Life) (04:29)
  5. Merle Haggard - Mama Tried (02:57)
  6. Merle Haggard - Misery (02:37)
  7. Merle Haggard - Take Me Back To Tulsa (02:59)
  8. Merle Haggard - I Knew The Moment I Lost You (02:41)
  9. Merle Haggard - Silver Wings (02:45)
  10. Merle Haggard - Misery And Gin (03:19)
  11. Merle Haggard - Ida Red (02:04)
  12. Merle Haggard - Place To Fall Apart (03:03)
  13. Merle Haggard - I Wish Things Were Simple Again (02:00)
  14. Merle Haggard - Amber Waves Of Grain (03:10)
  15. Merle Haggard - I Think I'll Just Stay Here And Drink (05:49)

Bookmark this list