Marty Robbins: The Essential Marty Robbins - Disc 2 of 2 CD Track Listing

A list by checkmate

Marty Robbins The Essential Marty Robbins - Disc 2 of 2 (2005)
The Essential Marty Robbins - Disc 2 of 2\n2005 Columbia/Legacy\n\nOriginally Released June 28, 2005\n\nAMG EXPERT REVIEW: Sony's Essential Marty Robbins highlights 40 remastered tracks recorded during the singer's lengthy tenure with Columbia, following the major paths Robbins' 30-year-career took. Starting with his first number one country single, "I'll Go On Alone," in 1952 and the crossover pop collaborations of the era with Mitch Miller and the Ray Conniff Orchestra, the package wraps up with his final Top Ten country single from 1982, "Honkytonk Man." Ample space is given to the much revered gunfighter ballads of the early '60s and several Billy Sherrill-produced singles in the mid-'70s. While these discs contain a wealth of Robbins material from which to choose, Essential only hints at the singer's ability to easily grasp and interpret varied stylistic genres of music. With that in mind, Sony's 1991 Essential Marty Robbins: 1951-1982 is still the recommended set as it features an extra ten tracks. -- Al Campbell \n \nAmazon.com Customer Review\nVERY GOOD...BUT NOT PERFECT, July 6, 2005 \nReviewer: S. SMITH "ROCKINGROLL" (COLONY 9, PLUTO)\nThis is a nice way to get most of Marty's highlights throughout his career at a relatively cheap price. The problem with this compilation & the others is that they leave off far too many Top 10 Country hits. For example, where's "It's Your World"? That single went to #3, and it even went to #51 on the Pop charts, yet it's curiously absent here. There are also several Top 100 Pop hits missing. Maybe the folks putting these collections together should look at Joel Whitburn's books now and again! My feeling is that if you're doing an "essential" collection by a country artist, you should include at least all of their Top 10 Country hits & Top 40 Pop hits. Is that too much to ask? I guess it is. Anyway...this is actually a pretty decent set if you enjoy Mr. Robbins' work but don't really care if it's missing some chart hits. But for a completist like me, it's somewhat frustrating. I just hope that some day Sony will get on the ball and do a 4-cd box set with all of his hits & some nice rarities. \n\nHalf.com Album Notes\nPersonnel include: Marty Robbins (vocals, piano); Tony Mottola, Jimmy Rollins (guitar); Johnny Gimble (fiddle); Dick Hyman, Floyd Cramer, Hargus "Pig" Robbins, Owen Bradley (piano); Jerry Byrd (bass guitar).\n\nProducers: Don Law; Mitch Miller; Frank Jones; Bob Johnston; Billy Sherrill\n\nCompilation Producer: Gregg Geller.
This country cd contains 20 tracks and runs 66min 32sec.
Freedb: 150f9614


: Music



  1. Marty Robbins - Cigarettes And Coffee Blues (02:44)
  2. Marty Robbins - Begging To You (02:29)
  3. Marty Robbins - Ribbon Of Darkness (02:32)
  4. Marty Robbins - The Cowboy In The Continental Suit (02:56)
  5. Marty Robbins - Faleena (From El Paso) (08:19)
  6. Marty Robbins - Tonight Carmen (02:46)
  7. Marty Robbins - The Shoe Goes On The Other Foot Tonight (02:02)
  8. Marty Robbins - I Walk Alone (03:19)
  9. Marty Robbins - You Gave Me A Mountain (04:05)
  10. Marty Robbins - My Woman, My Woman, My Wife (03:33)
  11. Marty Robbins - This Much A Man (02:58)
  12. Marty Robbins - Walking Piece Of Heaven (03:06)
  13. Marty Robbins - Love Me (04:21)
  14. Marty Robbins - El Paso City (04:17)
  15. Marty Robbins - Among My Souvenirs (02:35)
  16. Marty Robbins - I Don't Know Why (I Just Do) (02:25)
  17. Marty Robbins - Don't Let Me Touch You (02:51)
  18. Marty Robbins - Return To Me (02:55)
  19. Marty Robbins - Some Memories Just Won't Die (03:21)
  20. Marty Robbins - Honkytonk Man (02:46)

Bookmark this list